NN CPC Run The Hague

The rich history of the NN CPC Run The Hague started on 12 April 1975 with an official race of 15 kilometres that started on the Lange Voorhout and finished in the Prinsenstraat. The Dutch elite athlete Henk Kalf won in 42.53 (when the course was measured again it was found to be 500 metres too short). In 1976 the distance of the NN CPC Run The Hague was increased to the half marathon (21.1 km). Female participants took part on 29 March 1980 for the first time. Marja Wokke was the first winner.

Early years

In the early years of The Hague's biggest sporting event the roll of honour saw mostly Dutch runners. Besides Henk Kalf, who won the first edition, Cor Lambregts from Limburg won in 1983. Marti ten Kate celebrated four times in a row: in 1987, '88, '89 and '90. Carla Beurskens also won four times ('84, '85, '86 en '90). From 1991 the highest places on the medal podium were reserved for participants from abroad. The Kenyans are the best represented. Some very big names appear in the list of winners.

World record in 2007

Benson Masya was the course record holder with his 1.00.24 from 1993. In 2007 Samuel Wanjiru surpassed that achievement by a wide margin. The young Kenyan athlete finished, on a course that has been improved upon over the years, in a world record time of 58.33. Among the women the course record belongs to Lornah Kiplagat, who now is a Dutch national, with 1.06.56 (2006).

World record in 2007